To You My Friend

1 07 2008

Traveling can get you completely out of sink with writing. I landed on Puerto Rico on Thursday and in matter of minutes my mind went into the things I would encounter; my mom back home from the hospital after surgery last week and my responsabilities as a caretaker for the next few weeks. I wish I could be here with her all the time.

It is hard to think of what to write, to think what you would need to hear today so I will let my intuition do it for me.

Getting the focus out of what our immediate needs might be to attent to others is so helpful in so many ways. You are completely guided by the love you feel for one another and when you do so your worries and tensions disappear. I needed that. Now I understand why so many people began to dedicate their life to helping others. I try to be attentive and to anticipate what is needed of me and get so tired sometimes that I just crash on my bed at night.

Another positive thing about this whole experience is that when you begin to live this kind of service to others there is only one person you can rely on and that is God.

Hopefully this theme would be of interest to you and when you feel tired, worried or just consumed with your daily struggles you begin to look outside of yourself and see who needs you. If you have experienced something like this before I would love to know.


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 07 2008
Ray

Hello Clary,

Sorry to hear that your mom is ill, but she is in good hands. Care taking of a loved one who once took care you is heartbreaking and sometimes difficult to accept. The very person who dedicated her life to you, now depends on you. Most don’t realize the hard work involved with the care taking of a loved one, I’ve been there with my mom before her passing away. It is an enormous task, but one well worth it and will help you deal with your situation.

I will pray that your mom gets better quickly, and that God gives you the strength and faith you need.

Clary … keep mom smiling and remember to keep smiling yourself! Laughter is medicine … you must not forget this, even when there is no laughter in you.

God Bless … enjoy mom and the family and take care!
Ray

2 07 2008
Manuel Mendoza

Oh my dear Clary I’ve been taken care of my Mother for 16 yrs,at first was cause
my father passed away,and b4 he died he told Me to take care of mom,now
that all my brothers and Sisters are no longer at home,promise me that!
So over the yrs we have become very good frnds,about 6 yrs ago my brother an sisters wanted to put our mother into a rest home,,,,I told them as long as i am Alive,our Mother is never going to no rest home,who the ‘H**L do you guys think you are trying to fool..Its been up’s an downs over the yrs,,,,
Just for the past yr she is getting Alizhiemers,next month she will be 80 yrs old!
In the mean while I wrk for myself to keep an eye on her,,,
I would not trade the experience i’ve had with my Mom,for NO Sum of Money,,
But durning the same last 6 yrs,up to the present , my younger sister has at times taken care of mom,cause of my Business travels that i have been taking through out these yrs…
My dear Clary ,I will prayer for You and Your Mom,recovery,and your strengh
for all the challenges you will have with your Mother to participate in her health,and your rediscovery of the friendship you will rekinddle again..
May The Lord God Bless Thee Both,and the rest of the Familia y Amigos
may He dear ‘Jesus’ put his hand on your heads and be Blessed with the Holy
Spirit,to protect all of you ,and bring you back to us ,my dear Clary,
Give a Huge Hug to your Mother From all of Us,,,,Take care

Leave a comment