The Valkyries

25 06 2008

This is soon becoming a traveling tradition for me; I pick a new book either before I leave or when I get to my destination by Paulo Coelho. My selection for my next trip is The Valkyries, let me tell you that it wasn’t easy to select just one book because I also wanted to read The Witch of Portobello. But I guess the theme of this one is what I’m looking for right now. Here is the review from Amazon.com:

From Booklist
There is enough interest in angels to ensure this peculiar little book a significant audience. It traces a spiritual journey of sorts, stereotypically cast as a journey into the desert, that embodies a New Age conception of liberation as liberation from the past in confrontation with oneself. The “ritual that demolishes rituals,” which is the climax of the book, is all done with mirrors. As Simone de Beauvoir would note, the “mirrors” are women–and that calls into question both the “newness” of the story and the “age” it heralds. But it is a strange tale many will find compelling. Steve Schroeder —

Excerpt from the backcover:
A powerful exploration of one man’s battle with self-doubt and fear.
“this true-life odyssey is at once a modern-day adventure story and a poignant message about letting go of the past and believing in the future.”

If you have read this book please share with me your thoughts on it, but don’t tell me the ending though. 🙂

Paulo, you are traveling with me one more time. I hope you don’t mind. 😉

###
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

3 responses

25 06 2008
aart

Hello!

I’m a big fan of Paulo Coelho! You will love this! He’s the first best-selling
author to be distributing for free his works on his blog:
http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com

Have a nice day!

Aart

28 06 2008
redhotrabbit

Senorita, No comprendo Espanol muy bien. Puedo leer Brida en Ingles?
My Spanish is really rusty. Is there an English version. On Amazon it’s only in Spanish. Larry

29 06 2008
Sherita Searcy

It looks like we are all on vacation this week. Enjoy yourself. Sherita

Leave a Reply

