A Good Dad

14 06 2014

CIMG1741

Tomorrow we celebrate Father’s Day and as a reflection on this special day to all the dads out there I decided to write about my opinion of what a good dad is. A good dad is not only the one who gives you life, is the one who is always there for you even though he might not even be physically close to you. Is the one who let’s you be yourself and love you for it. One who with his life example teaches you what being loyal, faithful, loving and caring is all about. It is one that shows you how a woman must be treated, specially his wife or mother of his children; with love and respect under every circumstance. 

It is a measure that many men fall short of and few attain. A man who dare forgets he came to existence by a woman must be reminded that to be a good dad, a good man, he must not forget how he became one through his wife or partner. It is not an isolated event but one that must be cherished together, just like women should on Mother’s Day as well. 

I was blessed with and extraordinary man whom I call dad, one who has been a lifelong faithful man, hard worker, responsible, loving, caring and very respectful of my mother and all the women he meets. One that put his life on hold while my mother battled cancer for quite a while. By the time I went to relieve him he needed open heart surgery. I cared for both of them at the same time in two different hospitals, in two different towns. It was not easy. I can’t even imagine what he had to endure during seven long years. Thankfully my mother is in remission and they are enjoying life again.

 

So to all the Good Dads out there, Happy Father’s Day and to the ones that fall short I pray that you may appreciate my words and reap the rewards a good dad receives not only tomorrow but all the days of his life and beyond by the love and respect of not only his children but his wife or mother of his children and God himself. Your job after all is to reflect God the Father here on earth. 


Actions

Information

4 responses

14 06 2014
larry trasciatti

Unfortunately I haven’t seen anything of yours in quite a well. It’s good to know I’ve found your site. My parents both died last autumn so this is good for me to read

14 06 2014
larry trasciatti

should have said quite a while.

14 06 2014
clary

Hello Larry,
Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment. The past three years has been a difficult period of time for me but in time my muse will return. Glad you like my blog entry.

24 06 2014
Phi Isaacson

When we lose a loved one such as a parent we hopefully retain a connection via the hopefully good memories and life lessons we gained from them while they were with us. We pass on to our living loved ones what they taught us and thereby keep them alive in our hearts always.

Leave a Reply

