Standing Tall

30 09 2009

migdalia-arellano-tropical-resort-i

Nobody said we need to be work shipped, honored, or adored but one thing I believe we all need to be is respected. Respected for who we are, what we hold dear and most of all respected as a human being. Everyone is entitled to that because we were created in the image of God.

When someone is disrespected normally they look for some way of retaliation and in that process they may even hurt those associated with them in order to cause even more damage. I don’t believe such behavior should go unpunished. Anyone who willfully look for ways to hurt others must be ready for the same. How could anyone in their right mind complain about the effects of a bad action without looking at how they whole thing started? With them. Now, I am not saying that I haven’t done any bad things in my life but I have tried not to do them intentionally.

Revenge is a strong word and one I don’t like to be associated with but many actions could be called revenge. Now, what I do believe in is in standing tall in the face of insults, humiliation and hurt. There comes a time when I need to stand firm on my ground and let others know that is not okay to disrespect me in any way, shape or form. Sometimes the measures that need to be taken in order for them to listen are drastic but the main thing is that they are crystal clear to the individual. If possible I would not like to remind them of the boundaries set forth in the discussion but I would not hesitate to do so if necessary. This is my modus operandi right now and it will continue to be. Passive no more.

What do you do to stand tall?


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2009
Jonathan

The first event that comes to mind for me happened about four months after we adopted our children (we adopted three little girls about 18 months ago). I had often wondered if the instincts you might expect in a birth parent would show in us, but I didn’t anticipate how fierce they might be.

A good friend made an innocuous comment about a photo I had posted of one of the kids, and I turned into Gort from The Day The Earth Stood Still. I surprised myself…

4 10 2009
carrie

Before we can respect others we need to respect ourselves. Behaving in a manner that is vengeful is disrespectful to our own spiritual selves. It isn’t always easy to take a higher ground when others around us act disrespectfully, but it should be done in order to preserve our own integrity and self respect.
thanks for the beautiful post~c

Leave a Reply

