Special Moments

26 12 2008

The days fly by and I am trying really hard not to think of the past and stop worrying about tomorrow. So many things have happened and so many tears shed in so a short period of time but I can not lose sight of the happy moments God is also letting me live.

My family is all in one place, we are spending Christmas together no matter the situation and no matter what will happen next. Today we are here and each and every moment lingers in my heart with a nostalgic tone. My son will be deployed in January for at least eight months, this is his first. As a mother I can’t help but worry but at the same time I accept God’s will in all our lives. He is not going to war and I pray that nothing happens during that time that he might be called to assist on a more dangerous mission. Now more than ever I will have to cling from my faith.

My other two children are growing so fast that they are creating some growing pains which I can’t hardly endure at times. Parenting is not easy and dealing with not fully developed individuals and trying to explain something to them is not easy. At times I wonder if it is because I never managed to develop the necessary patience (even though some people say I do have it) that all these trials are coming my way. I feel numb after each and every blow to my normal and peaceful existence, it seems there is no more tranquility in the horizon for a while. It is a challenge but one that I must endure since the first day I became a mom. Better times will come, I’m sure and all of this will be a distant memory. I will smile again and wonder why did I worried so much.


Actions

Information

2 responses

29 12 2008
DM

Clary,
I read this post and as a Christian dad of 4 kids (ages 20-28) this jumped off the page :

“I feel numb after each and every blow to my normal and peaceful existence, it seems there is no more tranquility in the horizon for a while. It is a challenge but one that I must endure since the first day I became a mom. Better times will come”.

Boy can I identify with that sentence.. I’ve been tempted to allow my heart to be numb (to protect it from any more hurt)

…(I just deleted a bunch of stuff I wrote because I could write you several chapters on this one) 🙂 If you need a sounding board- don’t hesitate to drop me a note. It wouldn’t be so hard if you didn’t care- but the truth is, you do care….if I could give you just one tip- keep the lines of communication open and let them know you love them regardless of their sometimes very rebellious and stupid choices.

18 01 2009
Lynn

Your words describe EXACTLTY the way I have felt for the last few days, yet we cant go. We care. I feel your pain. Please feel free to write to me if you want. I thought I was alone in this, maybe God brought this to me because he knows we are on the last thread, and he is the thread that make the cloth!
Thanks for the blog!
God bless;
Lynn

Leave a Reply

