Awaken by Force

6 12 2008

battle

Lately it seems that a week does not go by without some kind of drama or situation to deal with. It comes from all angles; personal, emotional, financial, parenting and relational. It feels like a battle ground and no matter how sure I am that all will get back to normal, it only takes a few days for the next attack. I never know from where or to whom it is going to be next so I am forced to be alert and suspicious of everything and everyone. I have come to believe this is a spiritual attack, one that is working hard to destroy everything we are and have.

I feel hanging by a thread sometimes but that thread is God and it is stronger than anything I can imagine. The thoughts on unworthiness comes to mind from time to time but I recognize it as part of the attack itself trying to keep me down feeling like all will lost anyhow so I try to refocus the thoughts and feelings in the midst of confusion and agony. One thing that amazes me is the calm that prevails within even if it is in the most obscure corner of my soul, it lingers. I know that there are many circumstances I can not control and because of it there is reason to despair. Like in the battleground, I need to asses the enemy and the terrain, be alert, know my weapons and deal with the attack as it unfolds before me. My main goal is to survive and to protect those around me, on the same token, I can not do much for those around me who decide to do something foolish exposing themselves to the imminent danger. It is not easy to see them fall and most of all I fear the long term effect of their injuries, but like I said, there are certain circumstances I have no control over and one of them is someone else free will.

I wonder how other people deal with spiritual battles or if they even believe in one but I come to realize that that they are so real.

####
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

8 responses

6 12 2008
ourcareer

Believe in yourself & the God above. Doesn’t matter whether you believe in Him or not, but he is there, watching over your & letting you fight your battles so that you come out as a stronger individual. He waits and watches over you because He believes in you & believes that you are a fighter & will come out of your turmoils as a winner. So, hang on.

6 12 2008
Samnang

You are at a great adavantage because you recognize that you are under attack and are being more vigilant now.

When I was younger I used to play a lot of historical strategy games with friends. Almost always I took the “underdog”, the one who was outnumbered and had the odds stacked against him right from the outset. And I almost always won. My parents thought I was wasting my time playing these games. Yet these games prepared me for real life. How?

I learned to use my resources wisely. If I spread my resources too thinly on too many things I would over-extend myself and be vulnerable everywhere. So I concentrated on a specific goal and organized everything around achieving it.

I learned to not get suckered in by the first opportunity that presented itself. I had to cautiously size up the situation and decide whether or not it was advantageous to proceed with it.

I learned to be vigilant in all areas, to minimize being caught off-guard. And to not panic if caught by surprise; to stay focused and quickly assess whether or not it was a danger to me in the long term. If not, I set it aside as an issue to be dealt with at a later date when things were more favourable.

I learned when to withdraw. Sometimes I would suffer loss or damage and had to retreat and regroup. Sometimes plowing ahead is the worst move a person can make.

I learned to make sacrifices. Sometimes I had to give up one thing to advance elsewhere. I had to learn which had more value overall.

And I learned to pick my battles. I could not fight them all so I simply concentrated my efforts on a few that were the most important.

Saint Paul wrote about the spiritual battle we face and told us of the weapons we need for victory in his letter to the Ephesians, chapter 6 and verses 10-20.

Stay strong!

7 12 2008
clary

Thank you for sharing with me your words, your wisdom. It is in this exchange that we continue to grow and support one another. The battle is not over yet.

7 12 2008
frank

I think I know what you mean but I find it hard to see a spiritual side of things. Its 4.30 in the morning and i cant sleep as i think about a customer who has come up with a trivial reason not to pay a fairly large bill. He is probably going to go broke and Christmas here will be grimmer than it needs to be. I have always tried to conduct business in a old fashioned gentlemanly way —word is my bond and accept a handshake . But there has been a seed change in ethics and i am out of step and ill suited to deal with the modern virtues. But on Monday I hope and pray that i will face the world with my reputation and standards intact. If I were to accept a spiritual side to all the brickbats being thrown at you and me then it would be a feckless and random God behind it. No this is a human hand at work, a sad and weak hand .

8 12 2008
clary

Frank, when I spoke about spirit issues I didn’t speak only about God but also evil spirits, they are very real even though the culture is trying to vanish them or deny their existence. In a way it is a good way for those spirits to move on easier if we don’t even acknowledge they exist, in that way we won’t be prepared when they attack and succeed to make our life and future a living hell.

9 12 2008
James A Woods

I remember you in prayer from time to time, and I definitely will on this issue. Your post reminds of a line from the latest Rocky movie. “It’s not about how hard you can hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep going.”

10 12 2008
sanjiwan

Clary,
Paulo says that there are the things in our life that we can control , and there are the things that is controlled by the fate. And that may be true with you.

12 12 2008
clary

Thank you for your prayers James, is the most powerful thing I can use right now.

Leave a Reply

