What to say…

9 10 2008

What do you say when the words escape your mind? when it goes in circles and land nowhere? when they long to come out but don’t even know how? I’ve been feeling that way, with a great need to write but not knowing what to say.

Writing to me is like breathing -just like a friend of mine said- and yet it has been hard to do. Sometimes you have to sit with your emotions for a while before something worthwhile emerges and I believe that’s where I have been lately, percolating the many facets of my mind, heart and soul. Perhaps you have felt the same way and preferred to listen instead of talking, reading instead of writing and meditating instead of preaching.

The more time it passes the more I panic that I won’t find a way out, that my words somehow will lose its strength, that I won’t know how to best express what lies within. I can’t let that happen because without sharing my words I feel like dying inside, my emotions will burst the seams that keeps me whole and then it will be hard to mend the fragments of my being. It is the way I give myself, a way to be and stay sane, to connect with me and those around me and love me and then by consequence love others.

I have fallen in a trap of expectations and perhaps that caused this draining mood. I’m letting go and embracing each moment as it comes but it doesn’t come easy. The more I do it the better it gets and who knows what I will experience then but whatever it is I will embrace it, love it and treasure it because it won’t be forced or expected but given freely as a gift.

####
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

5 responses

10 10 2008
Bill Howdle

From all I have read of your writings I can assure you, you aren’t loosing the power of your words. Everything is beautifully written and contains such a meaningful and understandable message. I thank you for that.
Bill

10 10 2008
Samnang

As Solomon said, “to everything there is a season… ” There is a time to talk, and a time to listen. There is a time to write, and a time to read. Active and passive are interwoven portions of life.

When I reach “writer’s block” I use a technique one of my creative writing instructors taught. All you need is something to write with, something to write on…

Write down the first word that comes to your mind. Then look at the word you just wrote and write down the first word that comes to your mind. Continue this process for 30 seconds. Then look at your first word and your last word and wonder how they could be connected at all. Simply by letting your mind flow freely without constraints, the creative process begins to actively work again.

It works well for me. Hope you regain your strength in words again soon!

10 10 2008
InnerJoy Megan

Clary,

I’ve been in the spot you describe many times. Moments, nay days when I felt uninspired and writing felt difficult. In such moments, I pray for inspiration, and then, after a few days something happens that gives me exactly what I’m searching for. In Buddhism they talk about impermanence, which ultimately must mean moments of great inspiration will be followed by moments of dullness, and then it changes again like a pendulum swinging. Stay with it and enjoy it for what it represents — a time to rest and absorb.

Wishing you what you most need now and always,
InnerJoy Megan

11 10 2008
clary

Thank you Bill, it is encouraging to know I haven’t lost it. 🙂
Samnag & Megan, both of you touched on an important point, there is a time for everything. It is hard for me because I never take this long to write and the short exercise you explained might help. Thank you for your visits and comments, it’s nice to know I’m not alone.

18 10 2008
Hicham

It’s normal to feel fear before writing, or even ask yourself: ‘am I going to say something new? shall it be effective and honest?’ However I discovered that it’s normal to pause for sometime and keep on wondering and pondering.

Actually thoughts are like birds who need some freedom to reach the destination so let them have their time and you’ll be surprised by the outcome and for me, everytime I write an article or a blog, it’s a new birth because I discover myself more! You know that feeling?

p.s. I wrote my name wrong in the past comment so please delete it.

Leave a Reply

