Women and Feminism

17 08 2008

“To be somebody, a woman does not have to be more like a man, but has to be more of a woman.” Dr. Sally E. Shaywitz

It wasn’t that long ago that women had a different life than they have today; all that was expected of them was to be able to take care of the household, be a good wife and mother. Education was left to the males in the family putting the girls at a clear disadvantage. Feminism came to bring many opportunities to women to take advantage of and they began to be appreciated for things other than their ability to be good wives, homemakers and mothers which I believe are still few of the highest values for them. There is some good and bad in what we have accomplished so far, and in my opinion the choice to be a stay a home mom or in charge of their own financial situation is a great controversy, there is nothing wrong in being able to attain both.

On an article I read on More, Are Younger Women Trying To Trash Feminism?, Linda Hirshman and Rebecca Traister claimed that our daughters are not appreciating all the hard work feminist did in the past for them by not being feminist themselves. The young are ignorant of the battles fought for the rights they enjoy today including the right kill their own babies. Well, that is a right any woman should be “proud” of, don’t you think? They want to experience their sexuality but can’t live with the consequences. To me personally that is one of the negative that feminism brought about and one that have hurt many, many women. If you don’t believe me go to Silent No More Awareness. Life can’t be better when you have the right to get someone out of the way for good.

The article moves on to this irrational comment by Hirschnam, “And I cannot figure out why this basic lesson is taking so long to sink in. When I see a young women enjoying a movie like Juno, I go into orbit. To me, the idea that a 16-year-old should bear a child that she then has to give away is just atrocious. I feel the filmmakers are playing with fire.” I wonder where is all the education of this woman after I read this comment, doesn’t she know the difference between life and death? What is more atrocious? To me the intelligent thing to do is to give it away if you are not ready to raise a child, there are so many couples who would love to have a child and can’t conceive one, what’s so wrong about adoption?

To tell you the truth I believe feminism has made women less women and more of a men. Women have a very important and powerful role in the world other than to try to be men in our society, I wish they would come to realize that. On The Dignity and Vocation of Women I understood many of the gifts, talents and responsabilities of a woman in the world. Being a woman is not for wimps and we can make such a great impact if we do what we were created for. I understand that todays society and economic system requires that most women work outside as well as in the house, but that can’t be our sole purpose in life and the way to measure our worth. I do appreciate a lot of the fights won by feminists including the one on education, self-sustenance, the choice to work or stay home, freedom of expression and from oppression, among many others. But what I don’t see is the necessity to go to the extremes and step over someone else’s right to life -the unborn- and the disregard that the father figure is so necessary in the children lives. Yes, we can raise our kids alone if we need to, if the father is so irresponsible and abusive that they leave us no other choice, but that doesn’t mean it is better for the children and that we are ultimately better of without them.

I’m feminine not a feminist, what I mean is that I treasure the role given to me by God in the context where I can fully develop and make the biggest impact according to my womanhood. I do look for ways to grow and serve others as I do. I thank the courageous women who fought for some of the essential rights we were lacking, but try not to go beyond them and step over other people’s rights in order to obtain what I need or feel I deserve.

Let’s not be so disappointed by the wise acts of our young women today in not embracing what would truly hurt them in the long run and for not picking what seems to be an easy way out instead of what it takes courage and sacrifice, afterall that’s what a real woman is!

###
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 08 2008
Tony H

A bold stance you also took in our book. Hope it catches on!

25 11 2008
dokken1

“JUNO Deluxe 2-CD Soundtrack.
Includes #1 Soundtrack PLUS the JUNO B-Sides!

Leave a Reply

