Gambling in Times of Uncertainty

7 06 2008

gambling

Uncertainty is sweeping the nation, nobody knows when the economy will improve and how to handle it until it does. Especially those young enough for this to be the first time that something like this happens to them. To me this is the second time around but by far the longest stretch of time I had to deal with it. I try to keep myself optimistic about this economic crisis but at times I feel I’m losing hope. Thank God is not enough to lose it altogether and somehow I hang on to the faith I have that it will get better. I try to keep looking at the bright side and notice what I have instead of what I don’t have. I keep hoping for a better day and working to attain new goals and dreams in my life.

Last night I was given what for many people would be bad news, a dear friend is leaving. In any other given time in the past it would have been a big blow to me emotionally but not last night. I somehow thought about him immediately, my concerns and needs were non existent. I only thought of him and what he needs at this moment. I was glad for him, it was a blessing to him to be able to make this move in his life. He was amazed at the reaction and expressed his worries in giving me the news. “I can’t think of me, I have to think of you,” it was all I could say. I heard the words and I knew they weren’t from my selfish self, it was from my spirit and my heart. By doing so I was able to accept a reality I was unable to change and found peace on the uncertainty I will find myself when he finally leaves.

Later on my dad called me excited about making one of his dreams come true. My mom asked me before she put him on the phone, “please don’t say no to your dad, he is so excited.” Never in a million years I would of thought that his dream has been one of mine for a long time; going on a cruise as a family. I think the last time we travelled together we were teenagers and we went to Disney World. Of course I was all excited until the analysis of what it will mean financially hit me and the uncertainty of how the situation will be when the time for this vacation comes, but the reservation had to be made now in order to get a good deal. Do we gamble all that money and hope we won’t have to cancel at the last minute or do we reserve and hope for the best? My dad decided to hope for the best, and I’m not surprised, he is always like that. He always gambles, takes risks and chances in life. Life is too short to worry too much about anything, everything works itself out at the end. Trust and hope are his key ingredients. So many times we stop ourselves from making our dreams come true for fear of the unknown, when in reality all we needed to do was push a little harder. I realize at the same time this opportunity will mean that I would have to make a big sacrifice, everything has a price tag and I must decide if I want to pay the price or not. It is not easy at times but we need to keep moving forward even if it is a millimeter at a time. We can’t stay stuck or we become stagnant. We need to keep our minds stimulated to think of new ways and ideas that might help change our present situation, we need to keep dreaming and even if we need to wait a little more for what we want or need to sacrifice it for the time been, to have the hope that in time it will come to be. That’s how I want to think at this moment. I won’t give up my dreams. I just will have to adjust the manner and time in which I’ll try to make them come true and hopefully it will work out at the end.

###
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

2 responses

8 06 2008
Ray

Hello Clary,

I can’t remember but maybe two or three months ago, I came across your site. I was looking into the WordPress software and somehow I arrived here. Since that day I have been back often to read your very interesting posts. Trust me when I say I don’t normally read blogs, but each time I visited your posts would hit home. Sometimes right there, deep down. I think that’s why your site will grow beyond your wildest dreams.

Several days ago I decided to read all your posts, from the beginning. Hey I ain’t no fast reader, so it took me several evenings when I got a chance. I’m up to March 2008 “I Wish You Enough” I recommend everyone read it. What I learned is that you were “very good” from your very first post. Also how much we all have in common.

Now Clary as far as your family trip, from what I’ve read of you so far “You Must Go”. The only question is how and how much. Your going young lady, just figure out how. You will never forget this trip, and will cherish the memories for a lifetime. If you don’t agree … then maybe go back and read your March 2008 entry “I Wish You Enough”. What I would give to be able to take one final vacation with those I love, unfortunately the hour glass ran out.

No gamble here, gambling is not going! It’s never too late until it’s too late.

I can see it now, a ship full of Puerto Ricans … ahhhh you going to have fun! 🙂

Thanks Clary, and don’t under estimate your God given talents!
Ray

8 06 2008
Sherita Searcy

This is an awesome post. I think about how many times people take a risk hoping that God won’t forget them in the midst..me included. In times like these, we cross our fingers and push toward our inner mark. Smile.

Leave a Reply

