A New Earth’s Christian Option

29 05 2008

sheen
There is a hunger for enlightment and spirituality today, it’s a growing trend helping people to finally find time for themselves and their soul in order to find balance and peace within.

I volunteer at my local library once a week and I found Lift Up Your Heart among the books that needed to be put back on the shelf. I’m always on the lookout for a few good books to take home with me. Since the sections I worked are the non-fiction I get plenty of time to -while working- see what’s new and available.

This book was first published in 1950 and Fulton Sheen was way ahead in his way of thinking. He speaks of the ego and the I, the ego being that which we think or pretend we are and the I as our true self. The ego is a conformist, it is adjusted to its times; the I has attained inner freedom, through transcendence of the wordly. In order to reveal the I we need to shed our ego.

The popularity that A New Earth gained thanks to Oprah’s promotion has been impressive. Not only did she promoted the book but she sponsored a whole new online study on this book which many around the world are taking part of, Christians included. Many are calling it Oprah’s church, but I don’t believe that’s her intention. She always like to share what she believes is good according to “her understanding.” Unfortunately the impact this class will have will be one of people believing they depend on themselves and not God.

If you know of any other good Christian books that could interest those who are reading A New Earth please share them here.


Actions

Information

4 responses

30 05 2008
A New Earth’s Christian Option

[…] Brad L wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptNot only did she promoted the book but she sponsored a whole new online study on this book which many around the world are taking part of, Christians included. Many are calling it Oprah’s church, but I don’t believe that’s her intention … […]

30 05 2008
spunkylady

Hi clary-

Came back to listen to your blogs.

I’m blind but love to listen to books on tape.

I’ll have to check to see if this one is on the list. Haven’t thought about Fulton Sheen in years but as a child I remember Mom watching him on our old TV. Brings back warm memories.

If it’s not on tape one of the ladies in my community will read it to me.

Thanks!

~SpunkyLady~
http://spunkylady.wordpress.com/

30 05 2008
Sherita Searcy

I have never heard of this author, but I will be sure to check him out. Thanks Clary

21 06 2008
clary

I’m almost done with this book, I haven’t been a able to put it down. I checked it out from the library and is overdue. There is so much wisdom in it I have been noting the best passages on my journal but now I find myself wanting to add it to my permanent library. Today I will drive around the used book stores in town and hopefully I’ll find a copy if not I will have to order a new copy. I recommend everyone to read this book, it’s clear, simple and hit home to so many important issues on human existence and how to make it better.

Leave a Reply

