The Quest for an Authentic Life

14 05 2008

woman

I found a little gem of a book called Beachcombing at Miramar; The Quest for an Authentic Life, it didn’t take me long to read it and soon after I found myself re-reading again. Today I took it from the bookshelf, this time is completely highlighted and I just thumbed through some key passages. “Once we possess another creature, we alter forever the inherent nature of that creature.” The only person we truly possess is ourself, it is our duty to know, develop and share our nature with others.

In my life trajectory so far I have been a daughter, a friend, a girlfriend, a wife, and a mother. Some of these relationships put me on a rite of passage; a life transition. Transitions are never easy, it involves recreating and shedding parts of our former life in order to make room for the new and that can be painful at times. It’s a renewal of the mind, an awakening of the soul. I would say that among all the different transitions one of the most important is the one we go through to live an authentic life. Life is not worth living if we are not living our truth, we become truly lifeless.

####
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

2 responses

16 05 2008
Sherita Searcy

I have been away for a while and have truly missed your blogs. Smile. Yes…death teaches you how to deal with life. I have learned even that being on a earnest search for an authentic life. I have come into earth shattering information that has changed my perception on what it means to just be me. Thanks for your post and the beautiful reminder. Sherita

16 05 2008
clary

Sherita?????? I missed you girl!!! Thanks so much for your comments, I will be stopping by yours soon. Love, Clary

Leave a Reply

