The Gift of Nature

7 05 2008

nature Noise, conversations, arguments, phones, TV, I can’t take it most of the time. I need to walk to my backyard and breathe the fresh air, to feel the warmth of the sun on my skin, and the coolness of the grass under my feet.

Yesterday was no different, I step out at one point of the other during the day, and in the late afternoon the sun was still warm enough to be out for a while. I was barefooted and walked around over the green grass as I checked each and every tree. The lime tree is packed, the mangoe tree huge but not sign of fruit yet, the almond tree was hit by the last cold front and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to revive it. The breeze played with the palm trees who are looking so healthy now and the pond is looking pretty dry since we had no rain for over week. I got close to the edge of the pond and sat on the grass, before I knew it I laid down looking up the clear sky. The birds flew around landing on the branches of the trees behind the pond, the wind softly caressed my skin, I breathed deep in and out as I thanked God for this heaven on earth that he created for me, for you, for all of us. I’m sure that if someone sees me they will ask themselves what the heck am I’m doing laying on the grass with no blanket, but I need to feel the earth make contact with my body and somehow absorb its energy. As I move to look around I hear the grass crunching under the weight of my body and from time to time I hear the birds singing and sudden sounds coming from the preserve. I worry that it can be a bobcat or some other wild animal so I remained alert.

bobcat

I wished I could just close my eyes and take a nap right there.

There is a reason for all of this beauty to surround us, to uplift our mind and soul to the divine, to nurture all our senses.

###
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

One response

8 05 2008
Manuel Mendoza

Mi Querida,doesn’t it feel great to be among nature it self,at times for moments of our daily lives we all go thru,,
Just like you described going barefoot,feeling natures breath upon one self!
it is so peaceful to feel GOD’S nature,to grasp it for a moment in life,it is an Awesome Moment ,,No distractions what so ever at all,,but fully aware for any dangers is prt of our being,in nature there is No Uncertainty,,just like their is No Uncertainty in LIFE it self,,in our daily routins we all bare in our own trail an tribulations we are walking or going to,,,or even trying to avoid at all cost!!
A Moment of Peace is So Precious…..

Leave a Reply

