Healthy or Unhealthy Fears

11 04 2008

It there a time when fears can be healthy? Fear is nothing more than an emotion we experience when we are uncertain or don’t have control over a situation. It usually springs from negative past experiences. When we are faced with something we have never done we are fearful, it’s just the way our mind and body tells us that we have no idea what will happen next. To face fears is to become stronger, to live, to grow, to know and increase our limits.

I remember the first time I had to go on stage to do a ballet recital, I was so nervous. But at the moment I took the first step and danced my way to the center of the stage it was just my group of ballerina friends, me and the music. Trained not to look at the audience but the back wall helped me finish and receive their applause. I looked for my parents and seeing their smile was all I needed. After that it became easier every time and I learned not only to dance but to model and be in competitions.

Now, I noticed how when we stop facing our fears we stop growing within. For many years I’ve enjoyed a very predictable way of life and stop challenging myself in different areas. For one, some of the dreams I had were put in the backburner while I raised my kids but at this point I can start thinking about me again. When I think about some of my dreams I can’t help but to get nervous, why do you ask? Because they involve change and of course change comes accompanied by surprises.

I found a very interesting blog entry about facing fear, Run at Fear, it is an interesting way to look at it. All I know is that facing fears is not going to be the same for everyone but that each person will benefit in some way from it.

###
Clary Lopez, author of Simplicity, Richness of Life


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

