Changing Circumstances

23 01 2008

I guess there is a moment in everyone’s life when you realize that things will never be the same. Life has set its motion and there is no stopping the circumstances that will impact the very core of who you are and what you’ll become in the time to follow.

This is the first time I’ve been in my parent’s home by myself; both are in the hospital at the moment. The house seems so empty without them and I can’t express the way I feel right now. I know life will be changing in the near future and I’m not sure if I will be ready for it, perhaps this is a way to ease me into my new reality. This is where I belong at the moment and I intend to do the most I can for them while I’m here.

I like routine and the ability to know what comes next in many aspects of my life, however the element of surprise is also needed in everyone’s life in order to keep the hope that things might not always be the same. As we move through life we learn to roll with the punches if we will and learn from each and every challenge that comes our way; at least that is the ideal way to get the most out of life.

I’m not sure what I’m trying to say here, all I know is that I don’t feel quiet the same and the incertitude sometimes is agonizing but I know I’m not alone and that something good is always at the end of a difficult journey. Every new experience adds a new color, light or shade on the canvas that displays our life journey, it takes time to finish the painting but at the end all the different effects are combined to let us see the picture in its entirety and it serves as a testimony of our own existence. All the joys, sorrows, tears and trials add up to a fully lived life along with all the other lives we managed to touch along the way. It’s like leaving tiny footprints on the world as a testimony of our existence. No other reality is more vivid that the one we leave imprinted in the minds of others as we move along the path towards our final destiny.

What are your changing circumstances, how do you handle it and what have you gotten out of it?


Actions

Information

5 responses

23 01 2008
Tony H

My entire life has been about drastic change so I developed adaptability as a skill early on. It is one of my greatest strengths. Not to mention the fact that I love jumping in the deep end of the pool. I lost my father this year and if you read my blogs you’ll know that I didnt have that much of a relationship with him so it cannot compare to your circumstance. My wife’s father is currently languishing and I do see what she’s going through so you’re in my prayers Clary.

23 01 2008
c.medina

sorry to hear about your parents. hope all is well soon and the house fills with the sounds of laughter. as you know, i am also at a moment of great change in my life, as i learn to navigate after the death of my son. some things leave heavier prints than others. yet we all must keep to the journey. peace&luv~c

24 01 2008
clary

Thank you Tony, I appreciate your prayers.

Carrie, I can’t even imagine what you are going through which reminds me that things can even be worst, my prayers are with you.

24 01 2008
Teri

Clary,
I am sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your life at this time. My prayers and thoughts are with you. I can tell you, first hand, that it is after we come out of these difficult times, that we see God’s hand. We realize that, as horrific the events that transpire, He is with us. After going through some really hard times of loss and disappointment, pain and suffering, my faith grew and my love for God increased. I can tell you, that at the times of the most trial, I really was not praying. I was telling God how I wanted things to go, but I was not listening. It was definitely other people’s prayers and God’s grace, that were holding me up, and getting me through. I think, without faith, we could become very bitter and more selfish, looking for ways to “get back” at life, or taking on the martyr role. Faith teaches us that suffering is a part of life, and it is the part that makes us a better person, a more loving and compasionate person. To have to watch our loved ones suffer is the worst. Blessed Mother did it. She showed us how. She stood by her Son, as he died on the cross. She is our role model on how to endure. Prayers and love, in Christ!

3 02 2008
Kate

Just wandering around online, and hey, look, there’s a link to me here already! Wild! (And, thanks!)

I have a post about this, from a ways back… not similar in details, but similar, a little, in emotion. I think. It’s here: http://katesaid.wordpress.com/2007/03/05/the-day-i-grew-up/

Best wishes to both of your parents, and to you. Take care…

Leave a Reply

