Don’t Die

14 01 2008

The day you give up your dream you die” – Flashdance movie scene quote

I love dancing, it has been part of my life since I was a little girl. I long to dance every single day but there are many other things to do in my life. Another good quote I heard from Paulo Coelho is “I want to die living”, it’s the perfect description of what I would like to do with my life.

Dreams are our way to visualize our destiny and I’m not talking about the dreams you have while you are asleep but the ones you desire to make a reality. So to me dancing was the perfect expression of my being; I felt free, creative, happy, relaxed and full of energy. I still do.

flashdance

Flashdance Movie

Today I watched Flashdance and, like the times before, it moved me to see the dancer’s ability to merge their movements with the music. I remember my jazz dance teacher in college and how she explained to us that we needed to use our body to express what we felt by listening to the music. She would make us lay on the floor and ask us to act up something with our body, like we were a chick inside an egg and breaking out of the shell. I have to admit it was a little weird but it taught me to do what she said; body expression.

When I hear a song I like I still imagine how I would move to the sound, a whole choreography plays in my mind. I’ve spent long hours practicing a routine until it was perfect, I enjoyed each and every second of it, now that I don’t dance as often is like I’ve let something vital in me die.

Creativity takes on different forms and today I use words, and colors. I intend to continue using these mediums to express what moves me, but dancing will still be on the top of my list even if it means adding it to my workout routines.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

