Family Ties

1 01 2008

It was three busy days going from town to town to visit family during this New Year holiday. We celebrated a birthday, got to see our brand new nephew again and spent time with my brothers, niece, aunts, uncles, cousins and friends.

This year has not been an easy one for some of us but never the less the time we spent together, tears and all, is what gives us the strength to go on. Each person deals with tragedy in a different manner. I’ve heard of people who lose a loved one and lock themselves up away from everyone in order to grief. The pain consumes their existence. Others are devastated but still are opened to let others come in and help them go through the process. I’m not sure how I would deal with it yet, but so far my family gathers around those who needs them the most. We try to make the best of it and we are opened to share our feelings about the ordeals we go through in life and that helps us.

Last night the New Year’s party wasn’t at their usual celebration level we are accustomed to but we enjoyed it just the same. My cousin lost his mother suddenly in August and we lost a cousin on Christmas Eve but I could see how he and his sisters tried to do the best they could to go through the difficult night, which I’m sure reminded them of last year’s when their mom was at the party with us. When midnight hit everyone embraced those around them, it was the time in which there was no more holding back, tears flowed out. The hugs and I love yous filled the room and each and everyone of us wished the other a better year ahead. I wonder if this year is the year I will lose one of my parents or both, but I really don’t want to think about parting but about sharing instead. Enjoying each and every moment we have will be my consolation when the moment comes. Expressing what I feel will be the other.

I hope that all of you have the chance to experience the support and nourishment you need from your own families, that you don’t isolate yourself from those who love you when you need it the most, and that you treasure each and every moment as your last.

Happy 2008!


Actions

Information

3 responses

2 01 2008
photospoems

My resolution for 2008 is to be more receptive to those that want to be loved. Every day i wake up I’m going to approach the day as four seasons. When night comes to an end. My prayer will be of thanks for another day, shedding of four seasons while I close my eyes. To rest preparing for another four if I shall wake the see another sunrise.

Clary, I wish nothing but the best of health for all in your family….My prayers I lift up to him that God will guide you, giving you strength, your whole family strength to endure what falls in the paths of your crossroads through 2008.

Arthur Henn

2 01 2008
Tony H

Sage advice indeed. Thanks Clary.

3 01 2008
jaypeefreely

Have a great 2008!!!

It had been a while since I had stopped by, but I like the last few posts, especially the reason, season, lifetime one.

Leave a Reply

