Word’s Power

2 12 2007

This morning I received this message from one of my friend readers.

“My dear, this has been a frustrating week for me . But the love and friendship you share and very kind words that you speak me have lifted me out of the doldrums – Thank you for the love of friendship that you have shown me – You have given me a happy heart – Your words carry healing when spoken in love and friendships blossom, and my heart is forever blessed by your kind words! (((BLESSINGS OF LOVE)))”

I display the following, Love the Words next to my name, it wasn’t until I read this message that I remembered how powerful words can be, and why God compares himself with it. The New Testament begins with these words: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God; and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him was made nothing that has been made. In him was life, and the life was the light of men. And the light shines in the darkness; and the darkness grasped it not.” John 1:1-5

There is an awesome power in words and we need to recognize it and use them with care. It can build as easily as it can destroy. When I decided to become a writer I created a motto: “To inspire those who see or read my work and to help others succeed.” So far I think I’m been faithful to it, and as I continue to work with words my desire is to be true to myself and what is in my heart. My heart is the spring from where my words flow out of and with it I want to be a channel for others to be refreshed. I can’t give anything I don’t already have, so I must feed myself with that Word who came and stayed with us. Today I will go and listen to it; may it penetrate me and transform me into what I’m supposed to be in order to do my work. All I want is to continue to grow as a writer, as a human soul and to be able to touch others with my words. It is in this interchange -not out of pride but humble gratitude- where I as a human being can reach out and help someone else. It is a gift of communication that helps me transcend time and space. It is the ability to be with someone even though I may be physically gone from this world. It’s to an extent, the manifestation of who I am. I might not be able to be physically where I want to be but my consolation is that with my words I will be exactly where my heart is and it will be known and hopefully felt transcending time and space.


Actions

Information

3 responses

4 12 2007
jaypeefreely

Though I don’t come by often (or enough), I always feel at home when I read your blog. You always put things “right” or “write” depending on how you look at it.

You definitely have a gift of words. Take Care and Have a wonderful holiday season!!!

5 12 2007
clary

I’m glad you feel right at home jaypeefreely. You are welcome to come back, visit and comment on my blog.

5 11 2008
Ikan

Dear Clary,

Thanks for a very insiring posting. Indeed, word is a very powerful means of evoking good feelings, and at the same time a horrible tool for destruction. But your last sentence is very profound and I guess that’s why we have great writers who make the world a better place with their words.

Patrisius

Leave a Reply

