Did You Love Enough

12 11 2007

I listened to this message at least ten times and continue to analyze what it means to me personally. Love has been theme of interest to me for a very long time, I’m still learning how to love.

Watch Paulo Coelho’s take on love and then read my take on the same subject.


Clary’s take:


I find a lot of wisdom in everything Paulo Coelho has to say about life in general. He expresses so well what matters to all of us. I listened to the whole series of this presentation on YouTube and got a lot from it. On this part he speaks about love. I know that they are a lot of you struggling with this issue and questioning what’s all about, should we hope to find it or look for it, should we give it up after a bad experience or forever dream about it without letting it rule our life.


Love is a powerful feeling, it builds up and completely destroys us. It’s sublime and is hell. It’s giving and taking. It’s free and sacrificed. It’s all hopeful and forgiving. All of these and much more.


Paulo speaks about others being happy with our happiness ( and I would add: even if it doesn’t include them) that’s love. He also speaks about us not sacrificing our love for those of others. I’ve been taught that love is sacrifice, so how do we correlate both and still experience love and happiness in our life? That’s the difficult question. How far do you go in your sacrifice?


I don’t have all the answers yet, I’m navigating my life and doing the best I can to live my life in an authentic way. Whatever I’ve learned so far I love to share it with others and I’m always listening to those who are older and wiser than I am. Love is a mystery to me and I guess it is for all of us who truly want to experience what it is and how to better express it. There are many levels according to our state in life and there are different kinds of love as well. I guess we can study, experience, meditate, analyze all we want and we will never know the fullness of it but I’m sure we are entitled to have some of it if we remain opened and receptive to it.


Now, what is your take?



Actions

Information

2 responses

25 11 2007
photospoems

What can one say about love, Very good question. I think the word “Love” is a question within it’s self. Love comes at us from all directions, and out of nowhere when we least expect it. “Bam!” it hits and we don’t know what to think.

I have loved many times over in different ways other than the love I feel for my wife. We have been married awhile, Twenty-Nine years and lets just say the romance isn’t there like it was way back. I say this with love, admiration, and respect…But I’m being truthful.

We were married young, twenty and twenty-one…Shaking my head not understanding how we made it this long. But through the years we have built a foundation of faith and a large amount of trust in our marriage. Virgins on our wedding night, never being with another woman…I would not be telling the truth as a man if I said I never thought about leaving the nest.

I have so much love in my heart that has grown through the years and not sure how to put it into action…lol. I’m very rough around the edges and a softy inside. I think this is why I write with so much emotion, romance, sensuality, so on and so on…lol

I’m not saying I don’t love my wife…but if I would have just waited another 4, 5 maybe six years and let love come to me and grace love with a warm heart of the true knowledge of love. My wife and I would even have a better relationship of understanding each other today.

I love my wife, but then there are times I think there is something missing. But yet I still stay home, not leaving the nest…Is this really true love thinking this way. Or is it because I was blind, wanting her friendship more than love and now I want her love more than her friendship because I know I really could love her in ways physically, and emotionally if i just knew how.

Don’t know If I’m making any sense out of what I’m trying to say…Better quit while I’m a head…lol

Great Post, Clary

Surprised you don’t have more comments on this one…(((Hugs)))

Art

26 11 2007
clary

Art, you are speaking about something that many people go through I’m sure, specially those married a long time. If you believe that you can love her both physically and emotionally there is hope on turning things around. Love I guess evolves and we go through different stages and you are about to begin a new one but only if you dare try. Forget about your age and how long you’ve been married, court her all over again just like you would if you were 26, she’ll love it. I’ve read your poems and know that your love for her is deeper than the ocean, let it out. You are afraid to open up and she is mad you don’t show her what your words express. Go for it! She is your soft place to fall, she won’t turn you down. By the way you might want to check this book, “Living Romantically Every Day” by Barbara Taylor Bradford, it gives you a lot of romantic ideas on things you can do with your partner. Good luck my friend.

Leave a Reply

