Impossible Dreams

29 10 2007

girl

I really hate the word impossible, it creates a roadblock, a let down, a resigning to something you dreamed of and that might never be. I don’t even think about it, I dream and then go for it. I believe that if we dream something it is because it is meant to be, we just need to find ways to make it a reality. Sometimes we need to give something up in order to gain others, but one question I always have in my mind is; what if I don’t even try? What if I don’t fulfill my dreams and then is all over? How would I feel at the end? Of course there are many actions and decisions that affect so many other people that you are just tied up many times, but overall I try to be true to myself and what I feel I must do.

Dreams are a window to what could be possible but it is not. It’s a yearning to dig out what is deep inside of us, it is like giving birth to your true self. When you dream everything is possible and everything works out –not so in reality– but in an ideal situation we can make things work according to our present reality. Merging the two is the ideal situation for most of us because otherwise we live a very boring and unhappy existence.

What do you think dreams are? Should we take them literally or just as a sign that something is missing? Should we try to make them a reality at whatever price or move on and linger on the thoughts forever?

Comments: (from another blog)

Hmm, you are talking about dreams in a sense of what we dream of. Alright. If humanity didn’t have dreams & IMAGINATION the world would have not progressed to where it is today (remember the G.E. ride at Epcot?). And without dreams we wouldn’t make anything different and great happen.
Nothing’s missing on us by dreaming or wishing on something. Au contraire, we gain more and it is in our nature to do that.

You don’t have to push anything to happen, so I would say, do not think of paying a price for realizing your dreams just DO NOT EVER LOSE SIGHT OF YOUR DREAMS.

Did I help? : )

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 12:39pm (EST)
Initi… I believe in realistic dreams. Do I believe Clary in impossible – no. There is always a will and a way. And within the way – sometimes we have to amend what we have set out to do but some sit and wait for things to happen and others embark and put thier dreams into action. I think your the one that thinks of your own pursuits and then makes a “map” on how to obtain the dream/vision that you wish to create. I will never forget how many times I have had friends ask me “why are you doing that”, I didnt pay to much attention to why I was, I paid more attention to what I was doing and never waivered from it. Contemplations are sometimes areas of dreaming that then SOME do place into action.

All the best to the vibrant one!

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 10:14am (PST)
Bleac… Our conscious dreams are our wants and needs. In my experience something is always missing, and if we just try to fill our lives with whatever we are missing it will take an eternity. And then you are old and realize you have been chasing all your life, and not living. Follow your dreams and pursue them, but control the dream, don’t let it control you.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 06:22pm (GMT)
Txcha… i think sometimes, daydreaming and traveling in thought with our imagination creates more dreams,many dreams of wishful thinking. BUT if you want something desperately enough or the desire for what you’ve drempt is so strong, nothing can get in the way to completely stopping that dream from reality. A few obstacles, yes, and it might take longer then you thought or it might be harder then you think to achieve your goal, but in the end you will know that you could, you can and you will at full speed ahead to gain what you most desire! Sometimes you ahve to sacrifice one thing for another or someone in the process of your focus to gain whatever you desperately want in your life or to accomplish. Life’s a game of CHess. If you never do anything, nothing will ever happen.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 12:33pm (CST)
Amy U… Are you talking about conscious day dreams or unconscious night time dreams?

Conscious day dream are generally our desires. I sometimes think about what I would want if I was rich and money was no object, then I think about how can I accomplish this with what I do have. The fact that I’m not rich, and money IS an object doesn’t bother me because it’s the journey that’s important, not the destination. For example, I’ve always wanted to use my art to help people and if I was rich then I’d volunteer for charitble organizations. But I’m not rich and I don’t have loads of free time to volunteer, so I found a job that fulfills the same goal while I’m in school to become an art therapist. It’s the journey that’s important.

Our unconscious night dreams are very complex and IMO can have lots of meanings. Are they wish fulfillment or indicative of our desires? Are they meant to be satisfactory in and of themselves, or are they mean to spur us into action? I think the meaning is up to the interpretation of the dreamer. I’m not going to tell anyone what their dreams mean, it’s for them to discover. It’s the journey not the destination, IMO.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 10:37am (PST)
DOC (… dreams… the ultimate experience… in the best environment, our minds! must they be true? will they be true? do they have to be true? can I make them true? too many questions to bother with! I say, sit back and enjoy the good ones, let go the bad ones as mere nightmares to be seen as untrue and if it seems possible…or do-able, go for the ones that feel right and good in our hearts! 🙂

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 01:46pm (EST)
GG – … Wow, thanks so much for your insight. I guess it is about conscious dreams more than anything what I refer here, something that springs up from the heart and that you desire to accomplish or obtain.

Inesta, I love what you said: “You don’t have to push anything to happen, so I would say, do not think of paying a price for realizing your dreams just DO NOT EVER LOSE SIGHT OF YOUR DREAMS.” True my friend, thanks for reminding me that dreams also have a way to find their own way.

Jack, this really hit me: “There is always a will and a way. And within the way – sometimes we have to amend what we have set out to do but some sit and wait for things to happen and others embark and put thier dreams into action.” Yes, I map out what I want to accomplish and sometimes embark on way too much at the same time, but it is because I feel an urgency. Thanks for your thoughts.

BleachJT, your wisdon nugget follows: “Follow your dreams and pursue them, but control the dream, don’t let it control you.” I have to keep it in mind.

Chatterbox, this is so true: “if you want something desperately enough or the desire for what you’ve drempt is so strong, nothing can get in the way to completely stopping that dream from reality.” I feel the same way, unstoppable! It is what keeps me alive an enthusiastic in life.

Amy, you are so right when you say that “It’s the journey that’s important.” I will forever be in a journey. Paulo Coelho says that when he dies he wants people to say that he died LIVING. Not to dream, pursuit and achieve is to be dead, that’s for sure.

DOC, you are wise indeed when you say, “sit back and enjoy the good ones, let go the bad ones as mere nightmares to be seen as untrue and if it seems possible…or do-able, go for the ones that feel right and good in our hearts! :)” thank you my friend.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 02:13pm (EST)
[dele… Los sueños son los que nos hace levantarnos cada mañana, te imaginas qué horrible serían los días sin ellos? Soñar por soñar nos ayuda a vivir, como dice la canción. En lo personal siempre estoy inventando algo, una nueva meta, un nuevo sueño porque ese es mi motor. En lo general siempre trato de buscar como hacerlos realidad. No funcionó como esperaba? No importa. No perdí nada porque crecí y adquirí experiencia. Lo curioso del caso es que cuando un sueño imposible se nos materializa, uno va adquiriendo la confianza necesaria para creer que todo es posible ¡uno nunca sabe las vueltas de la vida! Qué estés bien Clary,

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 11:23am (PST)
ducks… Dreams are simply wild fancies and hopes. They mean nothing if you do nothing to achieve them.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 02:01pm (CST)
The G… Dreams are meant to come true if we apply ourselves. They are important because if we believe in them and ourselves they can happen. Since we dont know the limits of our own personal potential, without dreams we would settle for mediocrity in our lives. Since many aren’t willing to put in the work to live thier dreams many people have pure fantasies instead of dreams which never come true. Dreams are windows to our possible lives that come from deep inside us and arent filtered by worry or doubt. Great post, thanx.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 04:10pm (EST)
Cynth… The dreams we dream while asleep are basically a reflection of what has happened during the dya, or something in our minds. I sometimes have gone to bed thinking of a particular research or math problem and found the solution in my dreams. Sometimes it takes a bit of rest to see the answer clearly. If by dreams you mean aspirations, then I believe they are a call by your soul to something you want to do, a wish to fulfill. Those dreams must be rooted in reality. You can dream all you want, but you must have a plan to achieve that dream. You work towards a goal, and that dream is the “carrot” to help you along the road. Without dreams our spirit is broken, and we just exist, not live. At the same time, if you find yourself fighting the same battle over and over again, maybe it is time to re-examine the dream, maybe tweak it, so you stay firmly grounded. When you’re sure, go for it and go for broke!

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 07:56pm (EST)
Tony H Better to fail a thousand times than to die wondering if you should have tried.

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 08:04pm (MST)
Inesta Ask this people now how many are gemini ; )

Tuesday January 9, 2007 – 10:38pm (EST)
Rusty Everything that has been or will be invented was a dream of someone’s. The television, the refridgerator, the airplane, the automobile. At one tme, home computers, machines that use some kind of compact disc and wrist t.v.s were though of as pure science fiction. Now they are part of everyday life.

So what does the future hold for our world and it’s dreamers?
Only time will tell.

Wednesday January 10, 2007 – 01:31am (CST)
El Di… HA DREAMS…WHAT WOULD WE EVER DO WITHOUT THEM…WE WOULD STILL BE IN THE STONE AGE….HOWEVER I DO BELIEVE HTAT DREAMS HAVE TO BE WITHIN THE REALM OF REALITY…BAD PEOPLE HAVE HAD DREAMS AND IN ORDER TO MAKE THEIR DREAMS REALITY THEY HAVE MANAGED TO DESTROY HALF THE WORLD….I WILL NOT MENTION ANYONE HERE,THERE IS NO NEED TO….BUT YEAS WE SHOULD TRY TO MAKE OUR DREAMS REALITY OR WE WIULL NEVER FORGIVE OURSELFS FOR NOT TRTYING TOO..I KNOW I WOULDN’T..BUT HOPEFULLY OUR DREAMS WILL BETTER HUMANITY OR ELSE THEY ARE JUST BAD DREAMS.
AND THERE ARE PLENTY OF THEM TO GO AROUND.
DRACO

Wednesday January 10, 2007 – 10:15am (CST)
GG – … You probably read Inesta’s question about how many of you are Gemini, maybe because she is one or because they are dreamers. I don’t know, but I’m a Taurus and I’m always dreaming…

Wednesday January 10, 2007 – 11:19am (EST)
Txcha… Pisces are day dreamers, but Taurus act upon and help keep pisces in reality and help make dreams come true….my husband is Taurus.

Thursday January 11, 2007 – 11:42am (CST)
[dele… Hi! I just logged on and received your email…It is my opinion that dreams are mental images and scenerios that are from the subconscious. I believe it is a way for the subconscious to communicate to your conscious level to convey what the brain deems important to bring to your ‘concious’ attention…One have only to decode it!

Thursday January 11, 2007 – 04:59pm (PST)
So Da… With palms together,
Great questions. From my point of view, “impossible” only means we cannot wrap our brain around something and declare it so. Dreams can be playgrounds. Enjoy them, but personally, I try not to read anything into them. Be well.

Friday January 12, 2007 – 11:12am (MST)


Actions

Information

4 responses

30 10 2007
www.learnhypnosiseasily.info » Impossible Dreams

[…] clary placed an observative post today on Impossible Dreams.Here’s a quick excerpt:It’sa yearning to dig out what is deep inside of us, it is like giving birth to your true self. When you dream everything is possible and everything works out –not so in reality– but in an ideal situation we can make things work … […]

14 04 2008
Kim

I’m glad I saw this site. I am on the verge of giving up my dream of finishing medical school but I really want to, I’m just listening to too many negative people trying to talk me out of it because I’m 43 years old. Thank you, screw them

14 04 2008
clary

Well Kim I’m glad you found it too. Giving up on our dreams could be one of the most painful experience we can go through. I second you, make it happen!

19 08 2008
Drew

Dreams are a complex thing. We all desire success, how we define success is another arguement. If we follow our dreams we are guarenteed success so long as we have the right idea of success. I recently had to review my dreams. I wanted to go to a certain college but it would have involved moving country, away from my family and a lot of money which I simply couldn’t afford. My heart was set on going there because of a certain someone. As I thought about it I realised that going to this college was part of a bigger dream. There are other ways to achieve this dream and I’m forced to give up my initial plan and follow another route. Sometimes it is hard to get our priorities straight, but it is important to never lose sight of the big picture in order to achieve success, however we may judge it.

Leave a Reply

