It’s Not About the Money

25 10 2007

art

How many times have I heard this phrase from writers, I guess it is a common denominator among artists. We come to love the arts in whatever shape and form that might be and can’t contain our creativity in any way. Money is not the object but the expression of what is within bursting to come out.

Of course we would like to be able to make money with our work, that would help us do what we love full time. We long to touch hearts, to impact minds, to make a difference and maybe to live forever through our work. When I go to the Ringling Museum I feel the energy that the artist’s soul transmit through their painting, sculptures and photography. When I listen to an orchestra, a jazz player or watch a play I hear and see what only an artist can share with an audience; their essence, their feeling, emotions, their philosophy in one word “self”. Nothing could be more pure and sublime than to touch someone’s soul and I believe you can do that with artists even they might not be physically close to you.

There is a great letter that John Paul II wrote, Letter to Artists, and I like to read it from time to remind me of the great gifts God had given artists and what they should do with it. To me is not about the money either but about leaving a legacy behind that would testify of my existence and about not taking with me what has been given to me to share.

Comments:

Dave Offline Thanks for the reminder. I don’t worry about leaving a legacy. Just would like to help others through my work. If all that means is being able to put a smile on their face for a few minutes, then that’s OK too.

Tuesday November 14, 2006 – 09:26am (PST)

[dele… I am not really concerned about making any money or fame from my poetry..if I can touch someone with one of my poems…then I am satisfied.
huggs and kisses
Danny

Tuesday November 14, 2006 – 10:31am (PST)

Jess Offline That is a lovely way to look at it. Art for the love of art.

Wednesday November 15, 2006 – 01:37pm (EST)

Tony H Offline IM WHAT? It’s not about the money? That’s it then I quit! LOL. Nice post.

Saturday November 18, 2006 – 02:50am (MST)

LadyM… Offline Great post … and I agree with you … for me, it’s about the creation of emotion in others — either through the written word, pictures, sculpture, acting, etc … all forms … it’s about sharing that emotion. Thanks for sharing the Holy Father’s letter. It’s the first time I’ve read it … and it did move me …

Saturday November 18, 2006 – 02:47pm (EST)

Archer Offline IM Nice Post.

Take Care.

Shahid.

Sunday November 19, 2006 – 03:57am (PKT)

gary g Offline Having been a musician for so many years I have jumped back and forth on this issue. I’d even taken a few years’ hiatus at one point after playing for 6 years in Branson and touring with few Nashville acts. I’d come to a point where I’d lost my compassion and love for performing. That great feeling you had when you hear something touching your soul, that made your body move, and knowing you were part of that music had left. It had been lost in the business end of this little ride. It can be better understood by reading a blog I wrote a couple of weeks ago “Sharing the Love”. I’m back to a place where the money isn’t the issue, having fun with the music and enjoying the people it’s performed and shared with takes a front seat to “How much does the gig pay?”.

Sunday November 26, 2006 – 11:10am (CST)

Initi… Offline Tremendously valid desire and rich with good ethics of a real person that wishes to do something constructive within life whereby the byproduct may be something in material however that isnt the objective in doing it. Nicest writing I have read….

Sunday November 26, 2006 – 11:13pm (PST)

GG – … Offline Thanks for all your comments, I guess there is a common thread among artists.

Don’t worry Tony, even though money is not the motivation many artists land upon it for making great works, we might be among them.

Monday November 27, 2006 – 08:36am (EST)


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

