Life, Time and What We Do With It

2 10 2007

“I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read, and all the friends I want to see.” —John Burroughs

Life, so fragile and unpredictable. Nobody knows how long we will alive and yet we live like we will never die.

Life and time are linked together and somehow contribute in the accomplishments of our mission, goals and dreams.

I was listening to Paulo Coelho’s interview in Glasgow last night and it’s amazing how much we think alike. There is a time in life in which you decide to make your dreams come true. It might not be what others have in mind for you but it sure is what you have in your heart.

Writing becomes a way to grow and understand myself in the process, to me a necessary evil. The days in which I can’t write freely I’m uptight and “absent” from my immediate sorroundings. Like Paulo, it’s easier for me to express myself in my writing than speaking so that offers me hope given all he has been able to accomplish so far.

I’m planning to do a major revision to Simplicity – Richness of Life and add the things I’ve learned in the past eight years. I’m not sure if I will expand on each topic and create some new ones or just add a whole new section to the book. Some of my friends have asked me to translate the book into Spanish as well so that’s another major project I need to take into consideration. Time is limited right now so I don’t know when I’ll be able to begin these projects.

One thing is for sure I, like anyone else, need to stop and evaluate frequently my life, my time and what I do with it. If I don’t nobody will and before I know it is out of my control. Life is too short, it passes us by and those we love the most leave us (to begin their life or called by God to a better life) and we need to make the most of the time we have with them.

What do you think your life means? How do you manage your time?


Actions

Information

2 responses

10 10 2007
Matthew

Very nicely written Clary, I too think it is important to stop at times and reevaluate the direction life is heading. I’m always looking to life and finding that everything gives a scent of meaning to my existence. All of the little moments are important in defining me and strangely they can be the vehicle to greater freedom. I’m just glad to be a part of it all that sometimes gets glimpses of the vast and magical whole. Have a blessed day!

10 10 2007
clary

Hi Matthew,

You said it well when you said that it is important to find out what gives meaning to our existence, that’s the key I believe to live a better life.

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

