Life Reflexion on 9/11

11 09 2007

Today I’m sure is going to be a difficult day for many people, I’ll venture to say the whole nation but most of all for the immediate relatives of those lost on 9/11.

Tragedy is something that tends to unite us when we have drifted apart from each other. We live in a way in which we hardly ever take time to think about other people like we used to in the past when neighbors knew and help each other. If anything good came about this tragedy was a sense of oneness for the United States.

To me personally was a reminder that life is so short and that friendship is so valuable. I remember the story about this Christian man who worked with a handicap Jew, I’m not sure which floor they worked on but he wanted to carry him down the building. The Jew told him to save himself, they would never make it together. Then the other responded that he would remain with him there. They both called their families and said their good-byes and they face death together. That’s friendship. I doubt that the Christian man would ever made it anyway even if he tried to escape but he couldn’t live thinking that he left his friend behind.

Since I moved to the United States many things changed. I left my extended family and lifelong friends in Puerto Rico, with time a lot of my cousins have moved here but the big majority is still there. Those friendships can’t never be replaced or reproduced. I stay in touch with my best friend who is like a sister to me and every time I visit the island we get together, it’s like old times. We know each other perfectly and most of all love each other unconditionally. I can’t imagine losing her. So today I’ll pray for all those left behind who have to endure the loss of a loved one and for those who soon will lose them to accidents or sickness. Let us embrace each other and support our communities at large. Let’s do something today to help someone in need, maybe a simple call to someone you know is alone it will mean a lot to them.


Actions

Information

2 responses

11 09 2007
myartfullife

I didn’t want the media to overpower my own personal reflections on this anniversary date, so have avoided tv, newspaper, radio. I enjoyed your post, Clary. Thank you for reminding me of the story of the two men in one of the towers – it’s powerful.

12 09 2007
clary

I did exactly the same. I don’t know what it is about news and program specials that all they want to do is make us feel sad, worried and depressed. I avoid the news as much as I can. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

