Writing Life

30 08 2007

The thunder and lightning outside my windows shake me inside. Even though it’s almost daily occurence during the summer time it scares me every time. I’ve been busy revising my book, preparing a site for launching and an ezine is due tomorrow. I feel like I’m going in circles but I must concentrate in order not to miss any detail. It gets harder and harder every time and just to think that I need to get a whole promotion campaign for the new book in a few months. But I won’t think about that right now, first things first. I’m waiting for the galley of my book, then it’s more revision. After that is done I need to send galleys for book reviews and that usually takes 2 months to come back to me, maybe more. In the meantime I can be working in the bookcover design, I’m not sure how long that one will take. Then it will be to the printers to be fulfilled.

In order not to lose the habit of writing I’ve been blogging, writing a short story, reading some poetry and fiction. Reading and writing goes hand in hand. Writing improves when you read a lot and apply certain techniques learned in whatever it is you are reading, it could be poetry, fiction, writing descriptions, etc. Listening to classical music also helps stimulate my mind.

So if you don’t see me around here too much you know why, I’m trying to get everything rolling in the right direction in order to come back here and relax with you for a while. Get your cup of coffee pull up a chair and tell me what you’ve been up to, I would love to know.

Clary Lopez, author
Simplicity -Richness of Life


Actions

Information

2 responses

30 08 2007
utopico99

I was just reading The War of the End of the World by Mario Vargas Llosa, and I think his techniques are just fascinating!!
I think I’m glad I came across you, thundering provokes a similar sensation in me.
I’m sure publishing a book must be like giving birth.
I’ll be visiting you….

30 08 2007
clary

Thanks for your visit! Giving birth, that’s right and we are never quite ready to let go of our work.

Leave a Reply

