Finding My Voice

21 07 2007

writer
I got serious about writing eight years ago, before that writing was just a way to stay alive. I wrote in journals for the most part in order to sort my emotions and ideas. There comes a time in every writer’s life when the need to share their work with world is scary. We worry if the readers will accept or not what we have to share with them. For the longest time I thought who cares about the struggles of young mom and wife as she raises her children. The reality was that many women were going through the same things I was. I met them at the store, at the gym, at church and at work. They all have the same goal in mind; to be a good mom and still do their job inside or outside the home.

Finding my voice has been a journey, I don’t quite know what it is I want to concentrate in. I have so many interests that to choose one is kind of confinding. As my life evolves I find myself with a great need to share the different facets of my personal journey. I’m not in one place for a very long time and I learn and grow with each challenge and trial, I guess this is why they call it growing pains. The categories my writing fall under the most are self-help, inspirational and memoir, but I really don’t feel either one of those describes my niche. If could create a whole new genre it would be Self Awareness, the art of being, I think that describes exactly what I try to do with my writing. It is the wonderings of our mind and as we explore our inner self that we become who we are and ultimately what we are meant to be. Nobody can do it or force it on us, this is a journey where we decide we are ready to begin.

So is this new genre something that can be feasible to me as a writer? I would like to think so because it encapsules everything that I’m going through and will carry me well into the future.


Actions

Information

4 responses

23 07 2007
devega860

I think that it can be done. You will have to do it in such a way that it doesn’t get sucked in to the Self help category. I’m sure you can make it a success.

25 07 2007
hlees2008

Hello Clary!

What a wonderful thing you are doing! You show wisdom beyond the years and expereinces of perhaps many people. Your willingness to reach out and to communicate is a wonderful quality. I am quite pleased to have found your blog!

Maybe some are out there for whom a “Self Help” category is not where they are “tuned”. So be it. But even a faint longing or desire to “help oneself” bespeaks a level of responsibility that others have not yet attained to.

That does not mean that a writer such as you cannot do much, much good for this world we are passing through by finding that which answers your own quest of “self help, testing them, trying them, benfitting from them —and— passing some of that along to others who might welcome… even need… your help!

With that, I bid you speed that approaches that of light!

~balladeer-8~

26 07 2007
firefly8868

Best wishes with your journey in life, and as a writer.

Warmest,
firefly

26 07 2007
clary

Thank you so much for your encouragement. I guess more genres will emerge as the need and demand requires it. In the meantime I’m hopeful I’ll find my place in writing.

Leave a Reply

