The Need for Silence

4 03 2007

retreat Photography by Clary Lopez Copyright 2006

In a little over a month I will be taking my yearly silent retreat. It is a time I look forward to, however I understand that not many people are used to silence. “Silent retreat? What’s that?” some have asked me. It’s a retreat in which you don’t speak for two and a half days. “Oh my God, how am I going to do that?” Well, I would say by not talking…

I will listen to spiritual talks throughout the day and then reflect on them. Sometimes I walk the grounds you see on this picture. There is plenty to explore and as I walk and listen to the sound of the ground beneath my feet, I feel the heat, cold or breeze on my face. If I’m ambitious enough I can walk a mile and reach the Benedictine Monastery and go into the church or across the street and spend some time at the grotto. The monks get together a few times a day for prayer. I usually take my camera with me and take pictures at the escapes I want to take home with me when I’m far away from this wonderful place.

Silence drives me to dig deep and to hear God’s voice if he wishes to communicate with me. It is rare that I get to this point but first I must create the ideal situation for him to work with my spirit.

Sometimes I just go to my room and read or journal my thoughts and reflections. There is a stillness that you can hardly get anywhere else unless you do this kind of retreat. Life is too busy, too noisy, too fast for this kind of situation to be recreated at home. I try my best to get this periods of times whenever I can and I need to let others know of my intentions. I can’t be listening to radio or TV all day long, I need some down time. Balancing the physical and the spiritual is important to me and I’m sure it is good for everyone, but not everybody understands it. One day they are all stressed out, depressed or with a nervous breakdown and they wonder why. To me is simple, don’t forget to take time for yourself and by yourself. Don’t forget your dreams and passions in life. Take time to laugh and time to cry. Show others how much you love them and care for them. Take care of those who need help. Say something nice to someone you know or to a stranger. It is simple.

One of my mottoes is: “Be silent and speak when necessary.”


Actions

Information

5 responses

4 03 2007
Lave Sus Manos

Thank you for saying, nay, reminding me:

Silence drives me to dig deep and to hear God’s voice if he wishes to communicate with me. It is rare that I get to this point but first I must create the ideal situation for him to work with my spirit.

I think I really needed to hear that. I’ve not been on a silent retreat for a LONG time. Perhaps one is due.

5 03 2007
kkama67

That sounds like a beautiful get away. I am sure it is well deserved. 🙂

6 03 2007
clary

It truely is a wonderful place to go for a retreat.

Lave sus Manos, I’m glad I sparked some interest for you to create the ideal situation or at least the best you can make.

8 01 2008
salman

truly a great writing, i think you are a modern philosopher! silence is a way to finding our self. who find himself will find a good, in modern era non silence had replaced silence goodluck.
i am from indonesia

19 03 2010
Sunshine

i’m so glad to see this article..it felt me as if my own feelings have been given words..i loved your motto and hope to share the same with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

