Tug of War between the Writer and the Promoter

6 11 2006

 

Now I know why succesful writers take about two years or more between books. It takes a lot of their time and effort to market and promote their books for them to start working on another right away.

I have a few ideas that might develop into books in the future but I’ll need more time to reflect upon the themes and develop the content or characters to flesh out it out.

Right at this moment, in an effort to push myself to write fiction, I signed up with NaNoWriMo 2006. The challenge to write 50,000 in 30 days is monumental, one that I might not achieve but I’ll do my best to write every day of the week and that will help my discipline.

As I continue to promote Simplicity – Richness of Life I’m learning that by posting short excerpts of the book on my blogs generates sales. I might start writing some articles and submit them to article banks online and see how the traffic to my site improve and maybe the sales of the book as well. I think it is a timely theme especially now when we are approaching the holidays. People live at such a fast pace that they don’t even wait for Thanksgiving before they start thinking about Christmas, as soon as Halloween is over the stores are playing the Christmas songs and the displays are filled with merchandise. I don’t know about you but I don’t like to be in a frantic state and enjoy one day at time.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

